Minimal set-up required:
  - High-speed Internet access
- Explorer 6.0, Firefox 2.0 or Safari 2.0 and higher
- QuickTime Player 6


Home Page
In order to meet the specific teaching requirements in each of the three languages, the entire content of the site is provided in French, English and Spanish. Just click one of the three chameleons on the home page to select the navigation language. The Index enables you to search in the three languages (one at a time). Limiting your search to one specific language enhances immersion in that language while leaving you the choice of exploring equivalent expressions in either of the other two languages.

In addition to the home page, a menu bar allows you to move through the various sections in the site.


Information > Objectives
The Objectives section provides an overview of the wealth of idiomatic expressions and the value in learning them. It also explains the limitations of this trilingual index by clearly defining the type of expressions included, the choice of equivalent expressions and suggested activities.


Information > Mediagraphy
The Mediagraphy section contains a list of all the books and websites used to create this site. The current version does not display the source of each expression included in the Index. This information, however, has been systematically collated in an underlying database for use by language specialists.


Information > Comments
This section allows you to submit an evaluation of the 1000 images on the tip of my tongue site. A page will appear on the screen on which you can directly record your assessment of the media content or features of the product and then forward your comments to us. In this section, you can also look at the evaluations and comments of other users.


Index
Users can access the Index directly from the home page once they have selected the interface language. The Index screen is divided into four frames: Search Engine and Search Result in the top half of the screen, and File (of expression selected) and Display (of equivalent expression in one of the other two languages) in the bottom half. When a user accesses the Index, a list of all the expressions in the interface language will display by default in the Search Result frame.


Looking for Expressions (Search Engine)
The search criteria, listed in the top left-hand corner of the Index, help navigate through the thousand or so expressions in the database. Select the language, category or word you are looking for. A list of keywords is also available. Start by pressing the Enter key or clicking the Search button . You may want to click the Reset button (counter-clockwise arrow) to restore the initial parameters before starting a new search. Put a check mark in the box beside the word "Context" to broaden the search to all the words contained in the sentence.


Search Result
The frame displays either a single expression or a list of expressions. The first expression in the list is always chosen by default. You may go through the list in various ways:
- By clicking one expression at a time
- By using the navigation arrows in the bottom right-hand corner on either side of the file number (« 1 / 425 »)
- By using the navigation arrows on the keyboard

You must first click at least once in the box before using the keyboard arrows or scroll wheel. Once an expression is selected, the corresponding file will display in the lower half of the screen.


File (of Expression Selected)
The selected expression appears in the lower frame, followed by a brief contextual statement that explains its meaning. You can listen to it by clicking on the loudspeaker icon.


Display Equivalent
The equivalent expression in one of the other two languages can be displayed on the right of the screen. Use the pull-down menu to select the language.


Cartoons
Some 50 expressions have been illustrated using cartoons that follow the adventures of the Flying Stars circus troupe. The list of expressions, which is drawn up chronologically according to the storyline, corresponds to 50 cartoons. Clicking on a sequence title will launch the animated story. Each scene recounts an adventure that illustrates an idiomatic expression. From the founding of the Flying Stars Circus to the final scene, a succession of cartoons relates the trials and tribulations of one-of-a-kind circus performers.
By clicking , you can see the text of the response displayed onscreen.


Activities
This module presents several learning activities that help you learn the expressions, understand their meaning and identify the equivalent expression in one of the other two languages. This is a practical tool for all those who want to go beyond just exploring the Index.


Activities > Knowledge...
The questionnaires in the Knowledge..., Understanding… and Translation… of idiomatic expressions present various types of exercises to complete using the Netquiz software tool. Click on the title of an exercise to access the questionnaire.


Format of Sound Files and Cartoons
The audio-digital files included in the Index are in MP3 format.

The cartoons in the Activities section are available in QuickTime (.mov) format. This format, created for media streaming, launches the sequence quickly without waiting for the download of the whole file in the cache.

To listen to the audio-digital files and watch the cartoons, you will need Version 6 (or higher) of the QuickTime Player plug-in.
Both of these multimedia compression formats optimize the size of the files to be downloaded while maintaining their quality.


Copyright ©
All multimedia material available on this site is for educational purposes only and may not be used for any commercial purpose. Any commercial use of the contents of the 1000 images on the tip of my tongue site requires a signed agreement between the user and the CCDMD.

 
 
© Centre collégial de développement de matériel didactique, 2009

Configuration minimale requise
  - Accès Internet haute vitesse
- Explorer 6,0 ou Safari 2,0 et plus
- QuickTime Player 6


Accueil
Afin de répondre aux besoins spécifiques de l’enseignement dans chacune des trois langues, tout le contenu du site est offert en français, en anglais et en espagnol. Il suffit de cliquer sur l’un des trois caméléons de la page d’accueil pour choisir la langue de navigation. Le Répertoire permet d’effectuer des recherches dans les trois langues (une à la fois). La restriction à un univers linguistique particulier favorise l’immersion dans cette langue tout en laissant le choix d’explorer les expressions équivalentes dans l’une des deux autres langues.

Au-delà de la page d’accueil, une barre de menus permet de se déplacer à travers les différentes sections du site.


Renseignements > Objectifs
Dans la section Objectifs, on donne un aperçu de la richesse des expressions idiomatiques et on précise l’intérêt de les connaître. On explique aussi les limites de ce répertoire trilingue en définissant bien le type d’expressions retenues, le choix des expressions équivalentes et les activités suggérées.


Renseignements > Médiagraphie
La section Médiagraphie contient la liste de tous les ouvrages et sites Internet qui ont servi à l’élaboration du site. Dans la version actuelle, la source de chacune des expressions retenues dans le Répertoire n’est pas affichée. Par contre, cette information a été colligée systématiquement dans la base de données sous-jacente au Répertoire, à l’intention des spécialistes.


Renseignements > Commentaires
Vous pouvez faire parvenir votre appréciation du site 1000 expressions sur le bout de la langue à partir de la zone Commentaires. Sur la page qui apparaît, vous évaluez directement le contenu ou les qualités médiatiques de ce produit et vous nous envoyez vos remarques. Vous pouvez aussi consulter dans cette zone les évaluations et les commentaires des autres utilisateurs.


Répertoire
À partir de la page d’accueil, l’utilisateur accède directement au Répertoire après avoir choisi la langue de l’interface. La fenêtre du Répertoire est divisée en quatre cadres : Outil de recherche et Résultat de la recherche dans la partie supérieure, et, dans la partie inférieure, Fiche de l’expression sélectionnée ainsi que Afficher l’expression équivalente dans l’une des deux autres langues. Par défaut, en accédant au Répertoire, la liste de toutes les expressions dans la langue de l’interface apparaît à l’intérieur du cadre intitulé Résultat de la recherche.


Rechercher les expressions (Outil de recherche)
Les critères de recherche, alignés dans la partie supérieure gauche du Répertoire, servent à naviguer à travers le millier d’expressions de la base de données. Il suffit de préciser la langue, la catégorie ou le mot que l’on souhaite trouver. Une liste de mots-clés est aussi disponible. On lance la recherche en appuyant sur la touche Retour (Entrée) ou en cliquant sur le bouton . Il peut être utile de cliquer sur le bouton Réinitialiser (flèche antihoraire) pour revenir aux paramètres initiaux avant d’effectuer une nouvelle recherche. Il suffit de cocher la case devant « Le contexte » si l’on souhaite étendre la recherche aux mots contenus dans les phrases de mise en contexte.


Résultat de la recherche
Le cadre affiche une seule expression ou une liste d’expressions. La première expression de la liste est toujours sélectionnée par défaut. On peut parcourir la liste de trois manières :
- en cliquant sur une expression dans la liste,
- en utilisant les flèches de navigation situées dans l’entête du deuxième cadre, de part et d’autre de la   numérotation des fiches (« 1 / 425 »),
- à l’aide des flèches de navigation du clavier.

Il faut d’abord cliquer au moins une fois dans le cadre affichant les résultats de la recherche avant de pouvoir utiliser les flèches de navigation du clavier ou la molette de la souris. La sélection d’une expression dans la liste de résultats fait apparaître la fiche correspondante dans la partie inférieure de la fenêtre.


Fiche (de l’expression sélectionnée)
Dans le cadre du bas, l’expression sélectionnée est suivie d’une courte mise en contexte qui en indique le sens et qu’on peut écouter en cliquant sur l’icône du haut-parleur.


Afficher l’équivalente
L’expression équivalente dans l’une des deux autres langues peut être affichée à droite. Il suffit d’utiliser le menu déroulant pour choisir la langue.


Dessins animés
Les Dessins animés illustrent une cinquantaine d’expressions à travers les aventures de la troupe du Cirque des étoiles filantes.
La liste des expressions, numérotées d’après le déroulement chronologique de l’histoire, permet de parcourir les 50 dessins animés. Il suffit de cliquer sur le titre de la séquence pour lancer l’animation. Chaque scène raconte une histoire illustrant une expression idiomatique. De l’inauguration du Cirque des étoiles filantes jusqu’à la scène finale, la succession des dessins animés relate les tribulations d’une troupe singulière.
Le texte de la réplique peut être affiché sous l’écran de visionnement si l’on clique sur l'icône .


Activités
Ce module offre différentes activités d’apprentissage qui permettent de connaître les expressions, de comprendre leur sens ou de reconnaître l’expression équivalente dans l’une des deux autres langues. Elles s’adressent à toutes les personnes qui veulent aller au-delà de la simple exploration du Répertoire.


Activités > Connaissance...
Les questionnaires des sections Connaître…, Comprendre… et Traduire… des expressions imagées offrent différents types d’exercices à réaliser à l’aide du logiciel outil Netquiz. Il suffit de cliquer sur le titre d’un exercice pour accéder au questionnaire.


Format des fichiers sonores et des dessins animés
Les fichiers audionumériques diffusés à partir du Répertoire sont en format MP3.

Les dessins animés sont disponibles en format QuickTime (.mov). Ce format, développé pour la transmission multimédia en continu (media streaming), permet de démarrer la séquence rapidement sans attendre que tout le téléchargement du fichier vers la mémoire tampon soit complété.

L’écoute des fichiers audionumériques et le visionnement des dessins animés nécessitent l’installation de la version 6 (ou plus) du module d’extension (plugiciel) QuickTime Player. Ces deux formats multimédias de compression permettent d’optimiser la taille des fichiers à télécharger tout en assurant une bonne qualité.


Droits d’utilisation ©
Le matériel multimédia accessible sur ce site doit être utilisé seulement à des fins éducatives et non commerciales. Toute utilisation à des fins commerciales des contenus du site 1000 images sur le bout de la langue doit faire l'objet d'une entente particulière entre le demandeur et le CCDMD.

 
 
© Centre collégial de développement de matériel didactique, 2009